The power of collaboration

I thought I’d make mention of the series of events that led me to contribute to an online document on ways to teach History as it’s a classic example of all I love about the possibilities of web2.0. The short form of the story goes pretty much like this. Last week I was using tweetdeck.com and in my feed there was a RT from a teacher I didn’t follow @joetabhistory requesting contributions to an online google doc on ideas for teaching History. I had a quick look at the doc and felt there was some good material there that I could repurpose and, in order not to be a leech, I chipped in with a couple of ideas of my own, for which I later received a generous RT (retweet) from Joe. Since then I have checked back periodically as the list has grown and created a new page in my simplenote account to jot down the ideas ready to be incorporated into my scheme of work when appropriate. The whole process has cost me maybe thirty minutes of time for which I have gained five or six good ideas and contributed something back. This level of collaborative power is the true joy of teaching in the era in which we do and the sooner it filters all the way through the profession the better.

0 Responses to “The power of collaboration”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

twitter

Blog Stats

  • 7,706 hits

del.icio.us


